Minor in Music Composition

A minor in music composition is primarily intended for students in the Frost School of Music who are pursuing majors in other fields within the Frost School. Students interested in this minor are required to submit a portfolio to the chairman of the department for approval before declaring the minor. The minor consists of 15 credit hours.


MTC 101 Composition I 2
MTC 102 Composition II 2
MTC 201 Composition III 2
MTC 202 Composition IV 2
MTC 182 Composition Workshop (4 semesters of 1 credit hour) 2
Complete exactly 1 course from the following: 3
MTC 416 Orchestration
MTC 516 Advanced Ochestration
MTC 312 20th And 21st Century Techniques
Total Credit Hours: 15